Book Help Web


Thursday, March 09, 2006

Discover New Writers

In 1993, Barnes & Noble began recognizing works by new authors. Each year they give an award to whomever they think is the most promising new author of the best year in several different categories.

The 2005 awards were announced March 1. They were:

Nathaniel Flick (pictured left) for nonfiction. He wrote a memoir of his service as a Marine Corps officer called One Bullet Away.

Martin Moran took the second place award for nonfiction. He also wrote a memoir on his experiences of being seduced by a sexual predator when he was a boy. His book is called The Tricky Part.

Louise Brown, a social scientist, took third place for nonfiction with The Dancing Girls of Lahore, a book about an ancient pleasure district in Pakistan.

Uzodinma Iweala
was the first place winner for fiction. His novel Beasts of No Nation tells of a young African boy who is drafted by guerrilla fighters.

Kitty Fitzgerald's Pigtopia nabbed her the second place prize for fiction. She's an Irish poet and her first novel pulls together several unusual elements.

Catherine Tudish took third prize for fiction. Her short story collection, Tenney's Landing, tells the stories of people in a small Pennsylvania town.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home


Consumer Help Web Book Help Web Complaint Service Beading Book Cooking Finance Homeschool MMA Movies Music Scrapbook Shopping Travel TV Book Home Reviews by Author Reviews by Title Book Awards Interviews Blog Contact